Code4Lib 2010 locations?

So the proposals have been received for code4lib 2010 hosting. Sometime soonish voting will open to the community, with the last day of voting traditionally being the end of the 2009 conference.  If you have an interest in attending Code4Lib 2010, consider voting.

I suspect many voters evaluate the proposals solely based on where they’d like to visit. While I like visting a fun city as much as the next geek, I’d suggest that the primary thing for consideration should be who can put on the best conference.  As Code4Lib matures, the conference gets somewhat more complicated to run, with higher expectations, and it’s all volunteer labor organizing it, so these proposals are really proposals to donate a bunch of time to the community!

A secondary consideration might be geographic diversity, if we made everyone from the west coast fly cross country this year, good not to do it again. (I hate flying cross country, myself).

On that basis, I favor the Columbus OH proposal. No, Columbus isn’t top on my vacation destination list either, but the fact that five different mature organizations are all offering to collaborate to host (with letters of organizational commitment from directors) suggests to me that they are going to be most capable of putting on the best conference without driving themsevles crazy.  Also, while still in the generally eastern half of the country, at least it’s not on the east coast.

Also, I confess, that I like the idea of bringing a couple hundred open-access-crazy code4lib geeks right into OCLC’s house.

The geographic thing hurts the Asheville proposal in my book. They also haves several organizations cooperating to host  with organizational commitment, which is a key plus for me.  And I’ve always wanted to visit Asheville, never been. But I don’t want to make west coasters come all the way cross country again.

Austin also has two organizational co-hosts, a planning committee signing the proposal, and Austin is always fun (even in February), and is the western-most proposed location; Austin would be a fine choice too.  Madison, with only one organizational sponsor and one individual signing the proposal fares worse in my organizational capacity checklist, although I do  find Madison an enjoyable place to visit.

But really, they’re all pretty solid proposals. My pick is Columbus though, with Austin a close second followed by Asheville.  All seem pretty affordable locations, which is key, although Asheville and Madison lack an ‘international’  airport (ie, with a decent number of direct national flights, in the argot of airport categorization), which is problematic for travel. Austin and Columbus have major ‘international’ airports.   (Getting to Athens GA was a pain, although once there the location was just about perfect! I still dream of the UN-style tiered seating in that location, which was just perfect. If anyone can offer that, they’d have my vote in a second.)

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Code4Lib 2010 locations?

  1. Roy Tennant says:

    Thanks, Jonathan! We think it’s a strong proposal as well, if for no other reason than the half-dozen organizations we’ve lined up to co-host. I agree that the tiered seating at Athens was divine, and it will continue to be the gold standard for seating arrangements. If we can pull that off we will, but at this point I’d have to say it doesn’t look likely. Finding sites that meet all of the various hosting criteria can be difficult.

  2. Jon Gorman says:

    I’d also love to see the folks at each site post pictures of where they think the main session would be and evaluate the wireless….

    So far I have to say as far as pure comfort for the actual sessions Athens has yet to be beat. Although the wireless was a bit flaky, it’s always been flaky.

  3. jrochkind says:

    Yeah, that’d be nice if it were feasible, maybe a suggestion for next year.

    But mainly, I just hope voters evaluate on who can put on the best conference, with only a small influence of where I’d like to travel to.

  4. Kevin S. Clarke says:

    Jon, here is the link to the room in Asheville where the main presentations would be (it’s also linked within our proposal).

    http://twitpic.com/1eshx

    We’ve stressed the wireless requirements to the Asheville Renaissance. They are confident that they can handle it. Regardless, we’ve gotten permission to enhance their network if needed and we’ll go in with the assumption that we’ll need to.

    Asheville is a small town (and that is part of its charm); unlike Athens, though, we do have an airport in town that has direct flights from several major cities. I’d encourage those considering the options to look at the fare comparison link on our proposal page to see what your particular route would look like.

    I should also add that others on our local committee (not myself) have experience putting on conferences… I, personally, wouldn’t have even attempted a proposal without having their experience to rely on.

  5. Jonathan Rochkind says:

    I really do want to visit Asheville. It just doesn’t seem right to have east coast two years in a row.Although looking at the map, it actually IS due-south of Columbus. Hmm, I still think Columbus is more centrally located, and still like the idea of visiting LibLime/OCLC-land, and making LibLime and OCLC work together on something. :)

    But Asheville in 2011 if not 2010! At which point we’ll all be taking greyhound busses there, since our libraries won’t pay for anything else.

  6. Hi Jonathan, I don’t know… the longitude of Columbus OH is 82 degrees, 59 minutes and 55 seconds; the longitude of Asheville NC is 82 degrees, 33 minutes and 14 seconds. That difference doesn’t sound significant to me at all for those coming from the west coast. Asheville is tucked into the western part of NC and because the state is so wide this puts it almost right underneath Columbus :-)

  7. or, put another way, for BigD to jump on a plane to Asheville instead of Columbus he only has to travel an additional 42 miles. That doesn’t seem significant. Of course, we don’t have OCLC in Asheville (though I hear their head of international relations lives there) so we aren’t able to compete on that point.

    </pitch>

  8. jrochkind says:

    Yes, agreed, I was wrong about Asheville’s location making a difference compared to Columbus.

Leave a Reply

