Followup: Reliable Capybara JS testing with RackRequestBlocker

My post on Struggling Towards Reliable Capybara Javascript Testing attracted a lot of readers, and some discussion on reddit.

I left there thinking I had basically got my Capybara JS tests reliable enough… but after that, things degraded again.

But now I think I really have fixed it for real, with some block/wait rack middleware based on the original concept by Joel Turkel, which I’ve released as RackRequestBlocker. This is middleware to keep track of ‘outstanding’ requests in your app that were triggered by a feature spec that has finished, and let the main test thread wait until they are complete before DatabaseCleaning and moving on to the next spec.

My RackRequestBlocker implementation is based on the new hotness concurrent-ruby (a Rails5 dependency, great collection of ruby concurrency primitives) instead of Turkel’s use of the older `atomic` gem, and using actual signal/wait logic instead of polling, and refactored to have IMO a more convenient packaged API. Influenced by Dan Dorman’s unfinished attempts to gemify Turkel’s design.

It’s only a few dozen lines of code, check it out for an example of using concurrent-ruby’s primitives to build something concurrent.

And my Capybara JS feature tests now appear to be very very reliable, and I expect them to stay that way. Woot.

To be clear, I also had to turn off DatabaseCleaner transactional strategy entirely, even for non-JS tests.  Just RackRequestBlocker wasn’t enough, neither was just turning off transactional strategy.  Either one by themselves I still had crazy race conditions — including pg:deadlocks… and actual segfaults!

Why? I honestly am not sure. There’s no reason transactional fixture strategy shouldn’t work when used only for non-JS tests, even with RackRequestBlocker.  The segfaults suggests a bug in something C; MRI, pg, poltergeist? (poltergeist was very unpopular in the reddit thread on my original post, but I still think it’s less bad than other options for my situation.)  Bug of some kind in the test_after_commit gem we were using to make things work even with transactional fixture strategy? Honestly, I have no idea — I just accepted it, and was happy to have tests that were working.

Try out RackRequestBlocker, see if it helps with your JS Capybara race condition problems, let me know in comments if you want, I’m curious. I can’t support this super well, I just provide the code as a public service, because I fantasize of the day nobody has to go through as many hours as I have fighting with JS feature tests.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

