Hash#map ?

I frequently have griped that Hash didn’t have a useful map/collect function, something allowing me to transform the hash keys or values (usually values), into another transformed hash. I even go looking for for it in ActiveSupport::CoreExtensions sometimes, surely they’ve added something, everyone must want to do this… nope.

Thanks to realization triggered by an example in BigBinary’s blog post about the new ruby 2.4 Enumerable#uniq… I realized, duh, it’s already there!

olympics = {1896 => 'Athens', 1900 => 'Paris', 1904 => 'Chicago', 1906 => 'Athens', 1908 => 'Rome'}
olympics.collect { |k, v| [k, v.upcase]}.to_h
# => => {1896=>"ATHENS", 1900=>"PARIS", 1904=>"CHICAGO", 1906=>"ATHENS", 1908=>"ROME"}

Just use ordinary Enumerable#collect, with two block args — it works to get key and value. Return an array from the block, to get an array of arrays, which can be turned to a hash again easily with #to_h.

It’s a bit messy, but not really too bad. (I somehow learned to prefer collect over it’s synonym map, but I think maybe I’m in the minority? collect still seems more descriptive to me of what it’s doing. But this is one place where I wouldn’t have held it against Matz if he had decided to give the method only one name so we were all using the same one!)

(Did you know Array#to_h turned an array of duples into a hash?  I am not sure I did! I knew about Hash(), but I don’t think I knew about Array#to_h… ah, it looks like it was added in ruby 2.1.0.  The equivalent before that would have been more like Hash( hash.collect {|k, v| [k, v]}), which I think is too messy to want to use.

I’ve been writing ruby for 10 years, and periodically thinking “damn, I wish there was something like Hash#collect” — and didn’t realize that Array#to_h was added in 2.1, and makes this pattern a lot more readable. I’ll def be using it next time I have that thought. Thanks BigBinary for using something similar in your Enumerable#uniq example that made me realize, oh, yeah.

 

1 thought on “Hash#map ?”

Leave a Reply

