On the graphic design of rubyland.news

I like to pay attention to design, and enjoy good design in the world, graphic and otherwise. A well-designed printed page, web page, or physical tool is a joy to interact with.

I’m not really a trained designer in any way, but in my web development career I’ve often effectively been the UI/UX/graphic designer of apps I work on, and I do my best, and always try to do the best I can (our users deserve good design), and to develop my skills by paying attention to graphic design in the world, reading up (I’d recommend Donald Norman’s The Design of Everyday Things, Robert Bringhurt’s The Elements of Typographic Style, and one free online one, Butterick’s Practical Typography), and trying to improve my practice, and I think my graphic design skills are always improving.   (I also learned a lot looking at and working with the productions of the skilled designers at Friends of the Web, where I worked last year).

Implementing rubyland.news turned out to be a great opportunity to practice some graphic and web design. Rubyland.news has very few graphical or interactive elements, it’s a simple thing that does just a few things. The relative simplicity of what’s on the page, combined with it being a hobby side project — with no deadlines, no existing branding styles, and no stakeholders saying things like “how about you make that font just a little bit bigger” — made it a really good design exercise for me, where I could really focus on trying to make each element and the pages as a whole as good as I could in both aesthetics and utility, and develop my personal design vocabulary a bit.

I’m proud of the outcome, while I don’t consider it perfect (I’m not totally happy with the typography of the mixed-case headers in Fira Sans), I think it’s pretty good typography and graphic design, probably my best design work. It’s nothing fancy, but I think it’s pleasing to look at and effective.  I think probably like much good design, the simplicity of the end result belies the amount of work I put in to make it seem straightforward and unsophisticated. :)

My favorite element is the page-specific navigation (and sometimes info) “side bar”.

Screenshot 2017-04-21 11.21.45

At first I tried to put these links in the site header, but there wasn’t quite enough room for them, I didn’t want to make the header two lines — on desktop or wide tablet displays, I think vertical space is a precious resource not to be squandered. And I realized that maybe anyway it was better for the header to only have unchanging site-wide links, and have page-specific links elsewhere.

Perhaps encouraged by the somewhat hand-written look (especially of all-caps text) in Fira Sans, the free font I was trying out, I got the idea of trying to include these as a sort of ‘margin note’.

Screenshot 2017-04-21 11.32.51

The CSS got a bit tricky, with screen-size responsiveness (flexbox is a wonderful thing). On wide screens, the main content is centered in the screen, as you can see above, with the links to the left: The ‘like a margin note’ idea.

On somewhat narrower screens, where there’s not enough room to have margins on both sides big enough for the links, the main content column is no longer centered.

Screenshot 2017-04-21 11.36.48.png

And on very narrow screens, where there’s not even room for that, such as most phones, the page-specific nav links switch to being above the content. On narrow screens, which are typically phones that are much higher than they are wide, it’s horizontal space that becomes precious, with some more vertical to spare.

Screenshot 2017-04-21 11.39.16

Note on really narrow screens, which is probably most phones especially held in vertical orientation, the margins on the main content disappear completely, you get actual content with it’s white border from edge-to-edge. This seems an obvious thing to do to me on phone-sized screens: Why waste any horizontal real-estate with different-colored margins, or provide a visual distraction with even a few pixels of different-colored margin or border jammed up against the edge?  I’m surprised it seems a relatively rare thing to do in the wild.

Screenshot 2017-04-21 11.39.36

Nothing too fancy, but I quite like how it turned out. I don’t remember exactly what CSS tricks I used to make it so. And I still haven’t really figured out how to write clear maintainable CSS code, I’m less proud of the actual messy CSS source code then I am of the result. :)

Leave a Reply

